Frontier Former Editor

September 26, 2006

Racism – ain’t it just so adorable?

Filed under: Uncategorized — Frontier Former Editor @ 12:45 am

Today, I had the questionable pleasure of, on one hand, listening to George Allen go on the defensive over new revelations that he is a stupid thug with a complementary racist streak.

On the other hand, I had the equally questionable pleasure of listening to a sales rep in my office talk about going to church and being invited to another church. As she described the “black church” to my news clerk, I listened from my office as she tried explaining what she thought it was going to be like.

“You know how black folks are,” the rep noted at one point.

No, I don’t know how black folks are. I do know that, as white bread as I may appear, I happen to have some black and Cherokee ancestry. I also know that, after becoming intrigued about that, I did a little research and found that if I had been a resident of the old Republic of South Africa, I was legally ‘colored.’

I certainly have few qualifications to ‘know’ what it’s like to be black, but I think I have a pretty good idea what dumbassed white folks are like.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

